Diving in Puerto Aventuras

Bright eyed, bushy tailed and newly certified, I could not wait to get into the warm salty Caribbean water & dive in Mexico. My dive shop back here in Southern California had recommended a handful of good dive shops in Playa del Carmen & Tulum. Unfortunately both locations was a decent (30min+) drive from where we were staying… a tad inconvenient especially considering I was the only person in my family certified, or even interested in diving!

Um... do they KNOW what they're missing out on?? That's me just chillin' with my new sea turtle buddy!

Um… do they KNOW what they’re missing out on?? That’s me just chillin’ with my new sea turtle buddy!

Luckily, I found out about Aquanauts, located within our little Puerto Aventuras community. I dove twice with them, on two separate boat trips. Since I had just been certified they wanted to take me on a regular reef dive to measure my buoyancy before they’d take me out on a Cenote dive. (All dive shops around there do this – can’t have you up & down crashing into stalactites! If you’ve had ~20 dives under your belt, they usually let you go ahead)

Aquanauts Puerto Aventuras Diving

The staff & dive masters at Aquanauts are superb! I dove with Nick and Maurizio to Paradise Cove and Isla Escuela, respectively.

They really spoil you diving with them… if you’re renting equipment ($5/piece for 24 hours) they’ll set everything up for you – definitely still double check though! (Bruce Willis & all of that) The boat captains help you slide in & out of your heavy BCDs, load the air tanks, etc. And perhaps the best, they do everything they can to maximize your bottom time – my second dive was a full 64 minutes!!

our trusty little boat waiting for us when we came up from our glorious 64 min dive

our trusty little boat waiting for us when we came up from our glorious 64 min dive

I took my dingy little waterproof camera to try & document everything we saw. These obviously aren’t great quality photos and after a couple dozen snaps, I put it away & just focused on enjoying the dive. For those who don’t know, wavelengths (aka the colors we see) travel differently underwater. You lose the color red first, orange starts to go away at around 20ft, etc. – which is why these pics are all greens and blues.
So let’s play a game! It’s “Where’s Waldo” Find the Sea Creature edition:

Lionfish Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

School of Fish Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Stingray Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Creatures Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Octopus Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Coral Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Angelfish Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

I seriously had such an amazing time diving with them! Conditions were amazing – 77 degree water & 65 ft visibility. And the super knowledgeable divemasters & scaled pricing (the more you dive with them, the cheaper each one is) just added to a great experience.

Aquanauts Diving at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

I “passed” my buoyancy test during our first reef dive but opted not to dive a cenote quite yet. I was SO torn -Cenotes really only exist in this part of Mexico. But I decided to get more comfortable with my buoyancy for now, and besides, I was more than occupied with everything we saw on the reef dives! Don’t worry though, cenotes I’m definitely coming back for you.

I definitely did NOT take this photo... it's courtesy of my dive buddy Mario, who was shooting macro with this fancy underwater Canon DSLR.

I definitely did NOT take this photo… it’s courtesy of my dive buddy Mario, who was shooting macro with this fancy underwater Canon DSLR.

xx,
phyll

One thought on “Diving in Puerto Aventuras

  1. Dang! I only see these in Aquarium centers. Those are some fascinating sea life creatures. I always love lionfish. And turtle shots, first and last, are both superb!

Leave a Reply

